NEWS arrow

Emerson Excellence in Teaching Award Recipients Announced

The Emerson Excellence in Teaching Awards program, sponsored by Emerson, annually recognizes more than 100 educators in the St. Louis metropolitan area — from kindergarten teachers to college professors — who are examples of excellence in their field.

15 IFT members, along with 25 other educators in the three-county area, were recognized with a 2014 Emerson Excellence in Teaching Award at a ceremony and reception held Nov. 16 at the Ritz-Carlton in St. Louis. Recipients were selected by their schools’ administrations to celebrate their achievements and dedication to the teaching

IFT recipients include:

  • Rebecca Brombolich, Local 4465 Belle Valley Federation of Teachers
  • Sheri Herbeck, Local 6600 Southwestern Illinois Federation of Teachers, Belleville Grade Council
  • Lisa Vollmer, Local 4673 Central Teachers Association
  • Victoria Saksa, Local 1220 East St. Louis Federation of Teachers
  • Nancy Schoon, Local 6600 Southwestern Illinois Federation of Teachers, Grant-Illini Council
  • Karen Fitzgerald, Local 4131 Harmony-Emge-Ellis Federation of Teachers
  • Kelly Maher, Local 2175 High Mount Federation of Teachers
  • Brian Papa, Local 763 Madison Federation of Teachers
  • Eric Curry, Local 3939 O’Fallon Federation of Teachers
  • Teresa Goodhue, Local 628 O’Fallon Classroom Teachers Association
  • Brad Gotshall, Local 1811 Pontiac-Wm. Holliday Federation of Teachers
  • Hope Heslop, Local 4755 Shiloh Education Association
  • Amy Leritz, Local 4130 Whiteside Federation of Teachers
  • Bethany Kazmierczak, Local 6117 Wolf Branch Federation of Teachers
  • Bob Weck, Local 4183 Southwestern Illinois College Faculty

Emerson Excellence in Teaching award recipients have an opportunity to apply for a Gold Star Grant from Emerson, to be presented in spring 2015.




    Copyright © 2019 Illinois Federation of Teachers