Am I Registered to Vote?

Find out if you are registered to vote.

Register to Vote
Making your voice heard at the ballot box is easier than ever before on the Illinois Online Voter Registration Application website. Visit the site to learn about the voter registration requirements, then click on the application tool to begin the registration process.

Illinois residents may also register in person at their local office of the election authority, at driver's license facilities, or with deputy registrars who are appointed in each jurisdiction.
To register you will need:
  • Your Illinois Driver’s License number or state issued ID number
  • Date the license or ID was issued
  • The last four digits of your Social Security number
  • Your birth date
If you do NOT have a Illinois Driver’s License or state issued ID number, you may register by using the State Board of Elections' paper based Voter Registration Application Tool.

Early Voting
You may vote early in person, no excuse required.

Early voting locations for Chicago residents will be released in early February and be accessed by clicking the link below.  For other Cook County residents, early Voting begins as early as Wednesday, February 19, 2020.  Anyone can vote early, and no ID is required. However, it's always a good idea to bring an ID with you if you have one.

Absentee Voting
Absentee voting may take place in person or by mail. Contact your election authority for a list of the locations and office hours.

Military and overseas voters should visit Long Distance Voter's forms and information should only be used by voters with US mailing addresses.

The IFT urges all members to make sure their voice is heard by voting early, voting absentee, or voting in person on Election Day.

Student Voting
As a student, you have a constitutional right to register and vote in the place you truly consider to be “home” — whether that’s your parents’ house, your apartment, or your dorm room. But before you make the important decision about where to vote, make sure you know the rules (and sometimes consequences) of registering to vote in that state.

Another resource for students and first-time voters is provided by the Community for Accredited Online Schools and is available here. Find helpful information for every step of the voting process, from registering to researching candidates to casting your ballot. 

A new law that permits 17-year-olds to participate in Illinois primary elections, as long as they will be 18 by the November general election.




Illinois Federation of Teachers Announces March Primary Endorsements

by Marilou Lerner | Feb 04, 2020
Today, the Illinois Federation of Teachers (IFT) proudly announced endorsements for the March 2020 primary.
WESTMONT – Today, the Illinois Federation of Teachers (IFT) proudly announced endorsements for the March 2020 primary, which include federal, local, and judicial contests.

The IFT’s endorsements come after months of extensively vetting candidates and gathering member input. The union’s multi-step process includes surveying candidates on a variety of important issues, regional discussions open to all IFT members in the candidate’s community, and final consideration by the 40 elected members of our statewide Executive Board, which represents our union’s multiple constituencies and diverse membership. These endorsements reflect the results of that robust, democratic process.

Illinois Federation of Teachers President Dan Montgomery said,
“We are proud to endorse candidates who are committed to public education and labor rights. These folks share our values and will fight for our families, public services and healthy communities.”
The full list of endorsements is below.

United States Senate     
Richard Durbin (D)

U.S. House of Representatives 
CD 2      Robin Kelly (D)
CD 3      Marie Newman (D)
CD 4      Jesus “Chuy” Garcia (D)
CD 5      Mike Quigley (D)
CD 6      Sean Casten (D)
CD 7      Danny Davis (D)
CD 8      Raja Krishnamoorthi (D)
CD 9      Jan Schakowsky (D)
CD 10    Brad Schneider (D)
CD 11    Bill Foster (D)
CD 13    Betsy Dirksen Londrigan (D)
CD 14    Lauren Underwood (D)
CD 16    Dani Brzozowski (D)
CD 17    Cheri Bustos (D)

Illinois State Senate 
SD 10    Robert Martwick (D)
SD 13    Robert Peters (D)
SD 22    Cristina Castro (D)
SD 25    Karina Villa (D)
SD 40    Patrick Joyce (D)
SD 49    Meg Loughran Cappel (D)*

Illinois House of Representatives 
RD 1      Aaron Ortiz (D)*
RD 2      Theresa Mah (D)
RD 3      Nidia Carranza (D)*
RD 9      Lakesia Collins (D)
RD 10    Jawaharial “Omar” Williams (D)
RD 16    Denyse Wang Stoneback (D)
RD 19    Lindsey LaPointe (D)
RD 20    Michelle Darbro (D)
RD 29    Thaddeus Jones (D)
RD 31    Mary Flowers (D)
RD 32    Andre Thapedi (D)
RD 40    Jaime Andrade (D)
RD 41    Janet Yang Rohr (D)
RD 45    Diane Pappas (D)
RD 47    Jennifer Zordani (D)
RD 49    Maura Hirschauer (D)
RD 51    Mary Edly Allen (D)*
RD 54    Maggie Trevor (D)
RD 60    Rita Mayfield (D)
RD 63    Brian Sager (D)
RD 65    Martha Paschke (D)
RD 66    Jim Malone (D)
RD 70    Paul Stoddard (D)*
RD 83    Barbara Hernandez (D)
RD 93    Scott Stoll (D)
RD 107  David Seiler (D)*
RD 111   Monica Bristow (D)
RD 114   Latoya Greenwood (D)
RD 115   Johnnie Ray Smith (R)
RD 117   Dave Severin (R)

Illinois Supreme Court 
1st District (Freeman Vacancy)    P. Scott Neville, Jr. (D)
5th District (Karmeier Vacancy)    Judy Cates (D)

lllinois Appellate Court 
1st District (Neville Vacancy)        Michael Hyman (D)
1st District (Simon Vacancy)         Sharon Johnson (D)
5th District (Chapman Vacancy)   Sarah Smith (D) 

*IFT member  

The Illinois Federation of Teachers (IFT) represents 103,000 teachers and paraprofessionals in PreK-12 school districts throughout Illinois, faculty and staff at Illinois’ community colleges and universities, public employees under every statewide elected constitutional officer, and retirees. 




    Copyright © 2020 Illinois Federation of Teachers